E. Martin Davidoff, Attorney at Law
E. Martin Davidoff & Associates

 



Read a testimonial we recently received from one of our valued clients:

Client Testimonial

        

     


     


     


    Avvo - Rate your Lawyer. Get Free Legal Advice.

REVIEWS & RECOMMENDATIONS FROM CLIENTS



Tax issue from years ago

"I contacted Martin Davidoff after being referred by my local accountant since I was told he is the best. Between Marty and Alison they unraveled years of tax problems. Although the hourly rate seemed high, his price was more than fair due to their efficiency. Results were much better than expected considering the years of trouble I hid them. I would highly recommend Marty and ask for Alison. Working out problems is better than hiding them! If you are considering an OIC, this is the firm for you. You will not be disappointed. You will feel like a 2 ton weight is off your shoulder Marty helps negotiate the problems."

(Anonymous, April 7, 2018)



A N.J. State Tax Nightmare

"The story begins with the classic mistake of turning your family business over to the children with hopes of retiring. You know the rest! Finally, at wits ends dealing with the State regarding back taxes owed and a lien on a vehicle, we hired Davidoff tax attorney. Marty and associate Amy Marder, jumped right in with very useful knowledge, various plans, and a general "make you feel comfortable" approach to our mess. They were able to negotiate a reduction in interest and penalties and subsequently cut our tax obligation to 1/3 of what was owed. That also assured a release of the vehicle lien and a successful title transfer out of the business to our personal account. Yes, their fee is high but I'd rather pay them than give any more money to the State for their ridiculous, mixed up, drawn out, complicated system. Thank you Marty and Amy for all your time and effort. It was a real pleasure working with you. We almost feel like part of your family."

(Bob and Nancy, March 29, 2018)



Relief Found!

"My husband and I have been dogged with tax issues as a result of the downturn in the economy back in 2008. Due to penalties, interest, ACA subsidy rescission and IRA liquidation; our debt to the IRS had become higher than our annual income. Finally after years of trying to work it out, a lien was put on our home. In desperation I Googled tax attorneys in NJ and Marty's name was among the results. The moment I spoke to the office I knew we were in the right hands. Marty is involved at the outset and, given all the relevant information, is a brilliant judge of what's possible. Marty's team of professionals and para-professionals were at once completely dedicated to our case and immensely kind. We worked with Amy whom I cannot praise highly enough for her ability to keep us on track. We thought there was no way we could afford to work with an attorney, but it became clear we could not afford to work without one. Through his understanding of our situation, Marty was able to get our offer through in record time with a result we could not have dreamed possible. We are immensely grateful and cannot recommend Marty highly enough."

(Pam, January 23, 2018)



IRS & Cancer Survivor Thanks to Marty

"I was referred to Marty by a friend and was in need of a tax attorney and cpa for a $28K IRS issue which I could not afford to pay. I consulted over 5 Tax attorneys and CPA'a who advised that the IRS would only slightly abate the taxes owed, penalties & interest, and requested huge retainers to assist me. Marty was the only attorney who consulted with my daughter as a courtesy, He advised me that I could negotiate a fair settlement for the debt. He took the time to guide me thru the process and even called me and my daughter on weekends to see how we were making out. I followed his instruction, and the $28K debt was settled for $2,900. Every situation is different, but the tax debt was a result of picking a bad accountant, and needless to say I'm now a client of E Martin Davidoff. He and his staff are amazing. I can't thank Marty and his staff enough. "

(Willie Hill, October 13, 2017)



First Rate Lawyers and Great People to Boot

"I had a NY State Tax issue. Mr. Davidoff's colleague Andrew Paradis, Esq. handled it beautifully. He is smart, tough and determined. He gave great advice, prepared our presentation to the taxing authorities carefully and effectively, and got an outstanding result. I would recommend him and the Davidoff firm to anyone. They are first rate. "

(Anonymous, September 4, 2017)



Compassionate, Skillful and Wise

""Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a harder battle." Plato After engaging well meaning but inexperienced professionals over 4 years, the IRS had painted an image of us that was far from the truth. In their growing frustration they froze and emptied our bank accounts over a holiday weekend, contacted our employer by summons, and filed a levy on our income. We were paralyzed and shocked yet somehow managed to hold on to our conviction that none of this made sense. Our professionals were not advocating for us or connecting the dots to help the IRS understand what lead us to the awful position we were in. We needed someone who could analyze our situation and understand there was nothing nefarious, we had just fallen on hard times and mistakes were made. We needed someone with skill, wisdom and compassion and that is what we found in the office of E. Martin Davidoff. Marty quickly assessed the situation and formed a SWAT team with Andrew and Sarah. Together they accomplished more in 3 days than what was done for us in 4 years. They put in long hours and weekends, held conference calls, strategized and at the same time provided reassurance to us that everything would fall into place. They had the levy removed immediately and confirmed to our employer that the situation was under control. In short order, because of their compassion and ability to see beyond the numbers, we felt vindicated; we weren't crazy in our belief that we were erroneously branded and that professional mistakes were in fact made. In 90 days they brought the matter to conclusion. We have an installment agreement in place and can continue to repair and rebuild without fear of the unknown. It will take a while for the anxiety to dissipate but knowing that they will be there for us throughout the coming years is reassuring. "

(Anonymous, September 3, 2017)



Thank you for your consultation, your advice was much needed

"I just wanted to write a note to the office of E. Martin Davidoff. My husband and I have been putting off the inevitable. It wasn’t that we avoided paying our taxes; it was that my husband was out of work for a time and we went through bankruptcy. That does not deter the government IRS from coming after money they think was owed to them. We borrowed from a 401K and the government looked at that as income. I guess the old saying trying to get blood from a stone. We wanted to handle the issue on our own, however, with time there is fees that the government charges that continued to mount. We were concerned that legal fees would compound our debt even further. We called the office of E. Martin Davidoff. Immediately they were reassuring. Everyone was helpful and patient answering our questions. We got an appointment quickly and we really didn’t wait long for answers. Many family members and friends try to give you advice. Their advice, although well meaning, is not enough. You need real advice. Even though the advice might not be what you want to hear. The honesty and integrity that was given that day was really was hard to hear, however, necessary to develop a plan to solve our very nerve-racking IRS problems. The associate Andrew G, Paradis’ Knowledge was powerful! I felt very comfortable with his expertise and I feel that our problems will soon be a distant memory. If you have an IRS issue, don’t go for the impossible. Don’t guess at tax laws. Go to the professionals and get the advice you need. Thank you for all of your advise and assistance in our very personal tax issues. We are on our way to recovery. "

(Michael, August 27, 2017)



Tax Controversy

"E. Martin Davidoff & Associates provides highly customized advice and solutions to individuals and businesses. Their entire team is uniquely responsive and committed to going above and beyond satisfying their clients' needs. This boutique firm provides world class service."

(Anonymous, August 23, 2017)



Payment of Back Taxes

"I hired Martin Davidoff to help clear up my son’s delinquent tax issues with the IRS and States of NY & NJ. Through the process Martin Davidoff, Alison Cook and his team were clear and accurate on what they could save for me and they did. I worked mainly with Alison whom I found to be an expert in her field of advice and they were able to get my son's taxes reduced and penalties eliminated all in a timely fashion. His Staff was polite, assuring and their best quality was in their communications with me throughout the process. I would recommend Martin Davidoff and his staff to anyone who needs to resolve any tax issues."

(Anthony, August 17, 2017)



I Couldn't Have Done it Without Them!

"My case was incredibly difficult....I couldn't see a light at the end of tunnel ever!!!! I want to tell you that I cannot thank Amy and Marty enough for all that they both have done for me....All the time, dedication and determination they both put into getting this case truly HEARD!!!! I would recommend their company to anyone that ever needs IRS help!!!! They didn't have to keep going but they did and I will be forever grateful!!!! When I was down and at my worst (which was several times throughout this journey) Amy was always there to keep me up!!!! Not like a person that was doing work for me but but like a friend!!!! She would make me laugh and keep me from getting discouraged....And Nicholas that answers the phones!!!! He is just wonderful....Always so pleasant and friendly he made it a pleasure to call!!!! And Marty....who truly knows his business....He worked very hard to give me the end result that I am beyond pleased with....I couldn't have asked for more....He is a great man....The whole group are the best and I am so blessed to have found them all!!!! Thank you thank you thank you from the very bottom of my heart!!!!"

(Kym, August 16, 2017)



Great Pros and Great People

"Marty and Amy did an incredible job on our IRS audit with great results. They are true professionals, and worked tirelessly to meet tight deadlines. Their expertise in tax matters is extraordinary, and they truly care about their clients. I could not be more pleased with the outstanding work they did on our case. "

(Anonymous, March 2017)



Thank You

"Marty and his enrolled agent, Sarah, have been nothing short of miracle workers. Super smart, super knowledgable, super responsive and extremely effective. They are also some of the nicest and caring legal advisors I have ever had the pleasure to work with. I highly, highly recommend them. "

(Antionette, January 2017)



Simply the Best

"Not only did the job they did for me exceeded my hopes, but their continuing assurance that everything would be all right was an added gift. The manner and patience offered to me gave me peace during a most difficult time. " (Patrick, December 2016)



He is Amazing

"Mr. Davidoff, is not only professional, he is prepared, thorough, and has a team of lawyers and assistants that make you instantly feel at ease. I walked into this office, confused, and scared. I walked out with a plan, calm, and finally am in control of my life. I would recommend him to anyone over and over again. Just go, he is the one to help you! " (Gina, September 2016)



Extremely Pleased with our Results!

"To say we are pleased with the outcome of our situation is an understatement. We had to owed the IRS SUBSTANTIALLY lower than we anticipated and everything closed pretty fast! The entire staff was extremely polite and thorough during our entire experience. I interviewed many firms and this firm hands down was the most professional, competent and compassionate team you will find. Andrew took care of most of our case and we couldn't have been happier. As a young couple with very little knowledge of the tax and legal world they held our hand through the process he helped us breath easier understanding each step of the way." (Anonymous, September 2016)



Davidoff's Team: The Best!

"Due to a serious illness, I was not able to fulfill my tax obligations for several years. As my symptoms improved, I followed my accountant’s advice and retained E Martin Davidoff’s firm to resolve those tax issues. I found Marty to be very understanding of my situation, and extremely knowledgeable. With his advice, guidance, and experience handling similar tax situations, my issues have been resolved in a very satisfactory manner. His staff, and especially his assistant Amy, were very helpful and kept me informed at all times re the progress of the case. Amy’s exceptional inter-personal skills and responsiveness were instrumental in keeping my anxieties under control. With their assistance, I was able to focus on obtaining the information they needed to move the case forward. I am convinced that I made an excellent decision when I entrusted Davidoff with my case. They are the best." (August 2016)



Fixed My Tax Woes

"Sarah Fields was the calm in my storm. With IRS regulations being so confusing, and it's agents being so intimidating....Sarah rolled up her sleeves and did my fighting for me. She was informative, knowledgeable, personable and well connected. She utilized all of her resources to resolve my tax issue. She communicated with me every step of the way, and followed up as deadlines approached. She was available and accessible and went above and beyond to assure me. The office was inviting and services were affordable. I would use them again, but hopefully I won't have to!" (Shaun, August 2016)



If you want the best representation your money can buy, read Marty's bio and give him a call, anything else is subpar

"The saying goes: you get what you pay for. My husband and I were facing a low 6 figure tax issue with the IRS, as well as, a low 5 figure State tax matter, which, in my eyes, these issues would have destroyed us. On top of the IRS and State issues, we also had a Department of Labor issue during the same period. I set out to find an attorney. One only needs to read Marty’s bio to know that he is the man you want on your side, fighting for you. Marty’s superb representation does not start and stop with him - his entire staff is comprised with intelligent, helpful and insightful individuals. Concerning Marty’s fees - he has earned every dime. Initially, the thought did cross my mind to seek out a lower level attorney and save a few dollars, however, I sought the best of the best. If we were to survive this nightmare, we needed a champion, one who had our best interests at heart. Do not misunderstand, the fees are not unreasonable and when dealing with such serious and potentially life altering issues, you want to feel secure, you want the best in the industry covering your back. Marty and his entire staff are friendly and easy to work with, (I think we’ve worked with everyone in his office). The client/attorney relationship at Marty’s office is a team effort, a partnership. Two things I particularly like about Marty is 1) he is straightforward, he’ll tell you like it is, good or bad and at the same time, put you at ease, and 2) being a professional of his stature, he does not put on airs. Marty and his team were successful in obtaining favorable outcomes for us for each of our three issues. My advice, read his bio, it speaks for itself." (Dawn, May 2016)



Review of tax case where significant dollars were owed due to health reasons and depletion of retirement accounts.

"Mr. Davidoff is extremely knowledgeable, professional and a subject matter expert. He has surrounded himself with a team that is caring, professional and has all the puzzle pieces to develop a strategy that is reasonable and a win-win. If you're seeing an attorney, things are usually not fun, however, every member of his staff from greeting you at arrival, until the staff that addresses the issues at hand and setting the table for involving Mr. Davidoff and his expert opinion, Mr. Davidoff has scored a significant victory for us, but also was fair in his dealings with the taxing entities. BOTTOM LINE: Mr. Davidoff knows his stuff inside and out, and has surrounded himself with the Best of the Best, so I would Very Highly recommend him." (January 2016)



Outstanding Attorney & Law Firm

"Mr. Davidoff is an outstanding skilled tax attorney. He and his assistant Mathew were extremely accommodating and detailed which led to a quick and 100% successful tax audit. Besides his keen sense and knowledge of tax law, Mr. Davidoff is very kind, supportive and easy to work with. I truly appreciate everything they did to resolve a complex tax matter. I would highly recommend Mr. Davidoff and his firm to anyone without hesitation. Thank you very much!" (January 2016)



Absolutely the Best

" "I have been a client of Marty's for ten years. He has been able to achieve miraculous results for me. He knows the federal and state tax laws and has extensive knowledge of how things actually work at those agencies. He has been able to identify issues quickly, and direct resolution of issues through federal and state agencies on an expedited basis. The results he has achieved for me far exceeded any reasonable expectations on my part, and I am eternally grateful to him and his staff. I recommend him to one and all! (October 2015)



Excellent Accounting, Tax, and Legal Counsel

"After receiving a large tax bill from the state following a small business audit, Martin and his staff were able to quickly diagnose the errors and work with the state to reduce my tax burden. I greatly appreciated Martin and his staff's responsiveness and professionalism. They are true experts in this field and I would recommend them highly. Thanks again!" (Joseph, September 2015)



Knowledgable, Experienced, pleasure to work with

" "The IRS was seeking a mid six figure amount and my case was sent to a local revenue officer. I am sophisticated in IRS matters but was understandably very anxious. Marty put me at ease and allowed me to go about my normal business. His team is professional and experienced . The results were outstanding. I could not have asked for a better outcome or an easier process. I highly recommend them. Consider yourself fortunate if they represent you." (Chuck, August 2015)



Excellent Tax Counsel

"Handled all issues professionally, and even when tax issues had me backed in a corner...this firm handled the issue quickly and turned it around completely. I would like highly recommend E. Martin Davidoff for any issues regarding tax problems. They will do the best job possible despite the odds. This was a 6 figure settlement and they got results. " (May 2015)



IRS Audit for a small business

"After hiring a CPA that failed to inform me of his inability to represent my company because he worked for the FDIC. My taxes were filed, and I was alone dealing with the IRS audit. My wife did some research and found that Marty came very highly recommended. Marty and his team worked diligently and efficiently to work out a fair and equitable deal with the IRS. Their services are not cheap, but as my wife likes to say "you get what you pay for."" (April 2015)



Responsive, impactful and we appreciate the direction of his firm

"A significant IRS issue caused a lien and other impacts-it was a result of an incorrect enforcement action. We appreciated the organization of a plan and the professional manner it was carried out with the results we had expected. Sarah was very responsive and we felt we had an advocate fighting for us all the time. Without a doubt we would recommend Attorney Davidoff to all who need legal services. Thank you." (Dan, March 2015)



7 Figure Problem with the IRS

"Went to many Lawyers with a situation with Payroll Tax that I was in with the IRS due to my previous partners in business and all of the lawyers said I had no chance of fighting the issues; then my accountant was referred to Mr Davidoff from his partner. Within an hour of meeting with him and his staff, we had a plan on how to resolve my problems; where I wasted about 3 years with other lawyers, he resolved my problem in less then a year with a positive outcome. His knowledge of the laws is where he was able to do what others before him could not. I was very grateful for the work his staff and he accomplished. It allowed me to get back on track with my business." (Joseph, March 2015)



World-Class Professional Legal Support - Thank you!

"I want to thank this Firm very much for the incredible world-class work they performed for me. This "Tax repair" work ended-up reducing my overall Tax bill (at least) 25%! I really appreciate it very much when Professionals (this whole staff being a perfect example) executes exactly what they set forth to accomplish, and do it with precision and perfect timing. Your firm has been a "guiding light" to me, getting out of a complicated and difficult problem -- and the price was incredibly easy for me to handle. Thank you very much!" (Craig, February 2015)



Don't try to take on a government agency alone.

"I was scared to death,the state comes after you full steam ahead. Don't take them on alone you will loose. I someone accused you of murder you would hire a lawyer, but remember you innocent until proven guilty ,not the case with the government when it comes to taxes they inflate numbers in there minds and want you to pay it. They think your rolling in tons of money and they want it. Every dollar you pay a top notch attorney (Mr Davidoff ) probally saves you three out of four dollars the government will take from you. Remember your labeled a tax cheat and the government knows people won't protest a tax cheat . It's easier on the government to go after large amounts of money from one person instead of raising taxes on a large group. This is how they raise money and yet they'll blow it so fast on nonsense. Remember pay an attorney, or pay the government much more. " (Paul, February 2015)



Would Recommend

"I like Marty's style-- he gets to the bottom line quickly. He's competent and he's kind. His staff is responsive and professional. " (LW, February 2015)



You Helped Me

"I can't thank you enough for your advice. I called the number you gave me at the tax advocate's office and my case was referred to someone who could investigate the problem. I got a call back within 18 hours. The investigator ceased all legal action, the collection agency was called to task for not only harassing me but to redress them for not correcting the identity error done on the collection agency's report. I saved $6000 on penalties and interest AND I get back $1500 for a refund!!!! I will recommend your business for anyone who needs help. I have already spoken in glowing terms about how kind you all were towards me. Thank you! Thank you!" (Solange, March 2014)



Tax Issue

"I had some questions about a personal tax issue and Mr. Davidoff was kind enough to give a lengthy and specific answer. When I requested clarification via email, he asked his assistant to contact me for a phone consultation. His assistant, Joann Cleary, did so promptly and we arranged a time. Both were kind, prompt and responsive to my questions and needs and their follow-through was outstanding. I would not hesitate to recommend Mr. Davidoff and his staff for legal advice, direction and representation." (Sandra, December 2013)



IRS Reports

"Last year our company has applied for and recieved EIN nmb. And while filling SS-4 form with IRS we did a mistake - we put 2 members instead of 1. We recieved a confirmation letter from IRS and there was a request to fill form 1065 (for partnerships). We have discussed this problem with Mr. Davidoff and he advised to write a letter to IRS about the mistake and to fill form 1040NR (for sole proprietor non resident of the US) and he gave us a contact of the accountant who could help us to fill this form." (Igor, March 2013)



Client

"Martin worked with my wife and I to clean up years of un-filed taxes to both the state and federal government. He immediately took control of the situation and set us at ease. It was nice to be able to sleep at night again. With his extensive knowledge of taxes and the state and federal systems he was able to negotiate a fair settlement that we could live with and put us back on track so we can get on with our lives. His staff is both professional and tenacious in resolving issues. They are personable and we felt they really cared about resolving our tax situation. My wife and I would recommend him to anyone who needs to resolve tax issues of any kind. We are very happy with our experience and the outcome " (Paul, March 2013)